Mandela’s 90th Birthday in London

Nelson-Mandela_1On the 29th June 2008 I went to Nelson Mandela’s 90th Birthday concert in Hyde Park in London. This is what I felt at the time:

I have not been this touched, moved and inspired for a very long time. This event was just perfect!  The artists were talented, committed, passionate, and felt so privileged to be there. The crowd was there for one reason – to celebrate the life of this remarkable man.  I stood crying when Mandela came onto the stage – I just couldn’t believe I was there. And I was seeing him with my own eyes! 47,000 people were DEAD quiet and you could almost touch the love and admiration.  (Tears are streaming down my cheeks even as I type this.)

What this concert has reawakened in me – life is so very special and people are just so wonderful!  My social media message to Mandela last night was “You are Africa!  You are humanity!” He embodies the person we all want to be – I want to be!  Life’s trivialities seem so insignificant – there are greater issues at stake…and today those issues include Zimbabwe and more than ever HIV/Aids.

I am more motivated than ever to take my emotion and put it where is counts – where? I don’t know, but it will come to me.

My favourite Mandela quotes are:

“It is what we make out of what we have, not what we are given that separates one man from another!”

“I wanted to be known as Mandela, a man with weaknesses, some of which are fundamental, and a man who is committed, but, nevertheless, sometimes fails to live up to expectations!”

Both of these quotes have a massive impact on my life.

Happy Birthday Madiba!  You ARE humanity!

Leave a Reply

